About the NTSB

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Our Mission

Making transportation safer. We carry out our mission by—

  • ​​Maintaining our congressionally mandated independence.
  • Conducting objective, thorough investigations and safety studies.
  • Deciding fairly and objectively appeals of enforcement actions by the FAA and US Coast Guard and certificate denials by the FAA.
  • Advocating for implementation of safety recommendations.
  • Assisting victims and survivors of transportation disasters and their families.

The ​​NTSB Board​

​​The NTSB has five Board Members, each nominated by the President and confirmed by the Senate to serve 5-year terms. The President designates a Board Member as Chair and another as Vice Chair for 3-year terms. The Chair requires separate Senate confirmation. When there is no designated Chair, the Vice Chair serves in an acting capacity. NTSB currently has two vacant board member seats​.

More Info >

​​​NTSB History

The NTSB originated in the Air Commerce Act of 1926, in which the U.S. Congress charged the U.S. Department of Commerce with investigating the causes of aircraft accidents. Later, that responsibility was given to the Civil Aeronautics Board's Bureau of Aviation Safety, when it was created in 1940.

More Info >

Employment at NTSB

The NTSB has approximately 400 employees located in its Headquarters in Washington, DC, and in regional field offices in Aurora (CO), Federal Way (WA), and Anchorage (AK).

More Info >​