Administrative Law Judges

​​​The Administrative Law Judges conduct formal hearings and issue initial decisions on appeals by airmen filed with the Safety Board. The NTSB serves as the "court of appeals" for any airman, mechanic or mariner whenever certificate action is taken by the Federal Aviation Administration or the U.S. Coast Guard Commandant, or when civil penalties are assessed by the FAA.

Airman Appeals Process

Denial of Medical Certification

How Do I File via Email or Mail. . .

Online Submission

Online Forms :

Reminder: Please remember to submit your FAA documents (i.e. order of suspension or revocation, denial letter, etc.) along with your form.


Importance of Timeliness When I . . .

Advice: Keep A Copy of Your Documents

Make sure that you keep for yourself a copy of your appeal, the complaint, your answer and any other documents relating to this case in a file or folder, so that you have a record of them and can refer to them when you need to.

During the course of the case (beginning with the notice of hearing), ex parte communications (oral/written communications not on public record) relating to merits of case are restricted.

Related Links