Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Final agenda announced for NTSB's Air Race and Air Show Safety Hearing
Bookmark and Share this page

 Final agenda announced for NTSB's Air Race and Air Show Safety Hearing

Washington, DC - Today, the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) has announced the final agenda for its Air Race and Air Show Safety Hearing, which takes place on January 10, 2012. The start time for the hearing, which is being held at the NTSB Conference Center and Board Room in Washington, DC, has been changed to 9:00 a.m. (EST).

Fifteen witnesses will provide the Board and the public insight into current safety regulations, the protocols and practices utilized for planning, and the specifics of air show and air race operations. Following presentations by each panel, the witnesses will be questioned by the NTSB's five Member Board.

Below is the agenda for the one-day hearing:

9:00 a.m.      Opening Statement: NTSB Chairman Deborah A.P. Hersman

9:15 a.m.      Panel One: Regulations and Oversight

  • Federal Aviation Administration
    John McGraw, Deputy Director, Flight Standards Service
    Michael Umstead, National Aviation Events Specialist,
    Flight Standards Service
  • International Council of Air Shows (ICAS)
    John Cudahy, President, International Council of Air Shows
    Wayne Boggs, ICAS Member
    Judy Willey, Chairman, ICAS Board of Directors

10:40 a.m.     Panel Two: Aviation Event Organizations

  • Reno Air Race Association (RARA)
    Mike Houghton, President/CEO, Reno Air Race Association
    Michael Major, RARA Board Member, Pilot and Aircraft
  • Experimental Aircraft Association (EAA)
    Rod Hightower, President/CEO, Experimental Aircraft Association
    Sean Elliott, Vice President for Government Affairs
  • Air Boss Inc.
    George Cline, President, Air Boss Inc.

1:00 p.m.       Panel Three: Aviation Event Operations

  • Seafair Air Show
    Frank Sebastian, Air Show Coordinator and Chair
  • Marine Corps Air Station Miramar Air Show
    Edwin Downum , USMC Air Show Director
  • Commemorative Air Force
    Robert Stenevik, Vice President of Safety, Operations, and Maintenance
  • Red Bull Air Racing
    Jim DiMatteo, Former Race Director for San Diego and New York Events
  • Team Oracle
    Sean Tucker, Performer

3:15 p.m.       Hearing Adjourns

Bios for each panelist will be posted on the NTSB's website the morning of the hearing.

The NTSB Conference Center and Board Room is located at 429 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC. A link to a live webcast will be available on the NTSB's homepage on the day of the hearing.

NTSB Public Affairs: 202-314-6100

Enter the YouTube ID of each video separated by a semi-colon (;). Example: "LV5_xj_yuhs; QgaTQ5-XfMM; VWW8DMpfI9U; BgAlQuqzl8o;"


Contact: NTSB Media Relations
490 L'Enfant Plaza, SW
Washington, DC 20594