

National Transportation Safety Board

Washington, DC 20594

Safety Recommendation

Date:December 26, 2012In reply refer to:H-12-45

33 states, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the District of Columbia (See attached distribution list)

The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) is an independent federal agency charged by Congress with investigating every civil aviation accident in the United States and significant accidents in other modes of transportation—railroad, highway, marine, and pipeline. The NTSB determines the probable cause of the accidents and issues safety recommendations aimed at preventing future accidents. In addition, the NTSB carries out special studies concerning transportation safety and coordinates the resources of the federal government and other organizations to provide assistance to victims and their family members affected by major transportation disasters. We are providing the following information to urge the 33 states that do not mandate the use of alcohol ignition interlock devices for all driving while intoxicated offenders, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the District of Columbia to take action on the safety recommendation being issued in this letter.

On December 11, 2012, the NTSB adopted its special investigation report concerning wrong-way driving, which addressed the safety issues associated with wrong-way driving collisions and provided countermeasures to prevent such accidents.¹ Additional information about this special investigation and the resulting recommendations may be found in the report of the investigation, which can be accessed at our website, <u>http://www.ntsb.gov</u>, under report number NTSB/SIR-12/01.

As a result of this investigation, the NTSB issued 16 new recommendations, including 5 to the Federal Highway Administration; 2 to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration; 1 to the 50 states, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the District of Columbia; 1 to the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials; 1 to the Automotive Coalition for Traffic Safety, Inc.; 1 to the International Association of Chiefs of Police; 1 to the National Sheriffs' Association; 1 to SAE International; 2 to the Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers, Global Automakers, and the Consumer Electronics Association; and

¹ See *Wrong-Way Driving*, Highway Special Investigation Report NTSB/SIR-12/01 (Washington, DC: National Transportation Safety Board, 2012).

the following 1 recommendation to the 33 states that do not mandate the use of alcohol ignition interlock devices for all driving while intoxicated offenders, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the District of Columbia:

<u>H-12-45</u>

Enact laws to require the use of alcohol ignition interlock devices for all individuals convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI) offenses.

This safety recommendation is derived from the NTSB's investigation and is consistent with the evidence we found and the analysis we performed. Chairman HERSMAN, Vice Chairman HART, and Members SUMWALT, ROSEKIND, and WEENER concurred in this recommendation.

The NTSB is vitally interested in this recommendation because it is designed to prevent accidents and save lives. We would appreciate receiving a response from you within 90 days detailing the actions you have taken or intend to take to implement it. When replying, please refer to the safety recommendation by number. We encourage you to submit your response electronically to <u>correspondence@ntsb.gov</u>. If it exceeds 10 megabytes, including attachments, please e-mail us at the same address for instructions. To avoid confusion, please do not submit both an electronic copy and a hard copy of the same response.

[Original Signed]

By: Deborah A.P. Hersman Chairman The Honorable Robert Bentley Governor of Alabama State Capitol 600 Dexter Avenue Montgomery, AL 36130-2751

The Honorable Jack Markell Governor of Delaware Legislative Hall Dover, DE 1990

The Honorable Nathan Deal Governor of Georgia 203 State Capitol SW Atlanta, GA 30334-1600

The Honorable Mitch Daniels Governor of Indiana 206 State House Indianapolis, IN 46204-2797

The Honorable Steven L. Beshear Governor of Kentucky 700 Capitol Avenue Frankfort, KY 40601-3454

The Honorable Martin O'Malley Governor of Maryland 100 State Circle Annapolis, MD 21401-1925

The Honorable Rick Snyder Governor of Michigan PO Box 30013 Lansing, MI 48909-7513 The Honorable Edmund G. Brown, Jr. Governor of California 1173 State Capitol 1303 10th Street Sacramento, CA 95814-4910

The Honorable Rick Scott Governor of Florida The Capitol 400 South Monroe Street Tallahassee, FL 32399-0001

The Honorable C. L. "Butch" Otter Governor of Idaho 700 West Jefferson Boise, ID 83702

The Honorable Terry E. Branstad Governor of Iowa 1007 East Grand Avenue Des Moines, IA 50319-0001

The Honorable Paul LePage Governor of Maine 1 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333-0001

The Honorable Deval Patrick Governor of Massachusetts 360 State House Boston, MA 02133-1002

The Honorable Mark Dayton Governor of Minnesota 130 State Capitol 75 Martin Luther King, Jr., Boulevard St. Paul, MN 55155-1601 The Honorable Phil Bryant Governor of Mississippi PO Box 139 Jackson, MS 39205-0139

The Honorable Brian Sandoval Governor of Nevada State Capitol 101 North Carson Street Carson City, NV 89701-5336

The Honorable Chris Christie Governor of New Jersey PO Box 001 Trenton, NJ 08625-0001

The Honorable Jack Dalrymple Governor of North Dakota State Capitol 600 East Boulevard Avenue Bismarck, ND 58505-0001

The Honorable Mary Fallin Governor of Oklahoma 212 State Capitol 2300 North Lincoln Boulevard Oklahoma City, OK 73105-4801

The Honorable Lincoln Chafee Governor of Rhode Island 222 State House Providence, RI 02903-1196

The Honorable Dennis M. Daugaard Governor of South Dakota 500 East Capitol Avenue Pierre, SD 57501-5001 The Honorable Brian Schweitzer Governor of Montana State Capitol PO Box 200801 Helena, MT 59620-0801

The Honorable John Lynch Governor of New Hampshire State House 107 North Main Street Concord, NH 03301-4951

The Honorable Bev Perdue Governor of North Carolina 20301 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-0301

The Honorable John R. Kasich Governor of Ohio Riffe Center, 30th Floor 77 South High Street Columbus, OH 43215-6117

The Honorable Tom Corbett Governor of Pennsylvania 225 Main Capitol Building Harrisburg, PA 17120-0062

The Honorable Nikki R. Haley Governor of South Carolina 1205 Pendleton Street Columbia, SC 29201-3756

The Honorable Bill Haslam Governor of Tennessee State Capitol Nashville, TN 37243-0001 The Honorable Rick Perry Governor of Texas PO Box 12428 Austin, TX 78711-2428

The Honorable Earl Ray Tomblin Governor of West Virginia State Capitol 1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East Charleston, WV 25305-0009

The Honorable Matthew H. Mead Governor of Wyoming 124 State Capitol 200 West 24th Street Cheyenne, WY 82002-0100

The Honorable Vincent C. Gray Mayor of the District of Columbia 1350 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Suite 316 Washington, DC 20004-3003 The Honorable Peter Shumlin Governor of Vermont Pavilion Building 109 State Street Montpelier, VT 05609-0101

The Honorable Scott Walker Governor of Wisconsin 115 East Capitol Madison, WI 53702-0100

The Honorable Luis G. Fortuño Governor of Puerto Rico La Fortaleza PO Box 9020082 San Juan, PR 00902-0082 Safety Recommendation Reiteration List

SR	Reiteration	Report	Report	Accident	Accident	Accident	Accident
Number	Number	Number	Date	Description	City	State	Date
H-12- 045	1	SR-13- 01	5/13/2013	Zero: Actions to Eliminate Alcohol Impaired	N/A	N/A	N/A
				Driving			