Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Safety Recommendation Details

Safety Recommendation H-96-014
Details
Synopsis: About 7:55 p.m. on 9/20/95, a Toyota Camry driven by a 26-year-old female failed to stop for the red light at an intersection and collided with the left front of a 1985 Toyota Corolla. The weather was clear and dry and there were no visual obstructions. The air bags in the 1994 Toyota Camry deployed at impact. The driver sustained minor bruising on her inner arms and abdomen from contact with the air bag; the passenger-side air bag struck the back of the rear-facing child restraint system positioned in the right front passenger seat, breaking it in several places. The 5 month-old child in the restraint sustained fatal skull injuries. A 3 year-old child seated in a shield booster seat in the right rear vehicle seating position was not injured. All occupant of the 1985 Toyota Corolla were wearing their lap/should belts. The driver and 10-year-old child who was seated in the right rear seating position sustained minor injuries. The adult occupying the right front seat was not injured.
Recommendation: TO THE 50 STATES, THE 5 US TERRITORIES, AND THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA: Review existing laws and enact legislation, if needed, that would: ensure that children up to 8 years old are required by the state's mandatory child restraint use law to use child restraint systems and booster seats.
Original recommendation transmittal letter: PDF
Overall Status: Open - Acceptable Response
Mode: Highway
Location: Long Beach, CA, United States
Is Reiterated: No
Is Hazmat: No
Is NPRM: No
Accident #: WRH95FH29
Accident Reports:
Report #: SS-96-01
Accident Date: 9/20/1995
Issue Date: 10/26/1996
Date Closed:
Addressee(s) and Addressee Status: Commonwealth of Kentucky (Closed - Acceptable Alternate Action)
Commonwealth of Massachusetts (Closed - Acceptable Action)
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania (Closed - Acceptable Action)
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico (Open - Unacceptable Response)
Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (Closed - Acceptable Action)
Commonwealth of Virginia (Closed - Acceptable Action)
District of Columbia (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Alabama (Open - Acceptable Response)
State of Alaska (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Arizona (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Arkansas (Open - Acceptable Response)
State of California (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Colorado (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Connecticut (Closed - Acceptable Alternate Action)
State of Delaware (Closed - Acceptable Alternate Action)
State of Florida (Open Acceptable Alternate Response)
State of Georgia (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Hawaii (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Idaho (Closed - Acceptable Alternate Action)
State of Illinois (Closed - Acceptable Alternate Action)
State of Indiana (Closed - Acceptable Alternate Action)
State of Iowa (Open - Acceptable Response)
State of Kansas (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Louisiana (Open - Acceptable Response)
State of Maine (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Maryland (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Michigan (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Minnesota (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Mississippi (Closed - Acceptable Alternate Action)
State of Missouri (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Montana (Open - Acceptable Response)
State of Nebraska (Open - Acceptable Response)
State of Nevada (Open - Acceptable Response)
State of New Hampshire (Open - Acceptable Response)
State of New Jersey (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of New Mexico (Closed - Acceptable Alternate Action)
State of New York (Closed - Acceptable Alternate Action)
State of North Carolina (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of North Dakota (Closed - Acceptable Alternate Action)
State of Ohio (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Oklahoma (Open - Acceptable Response)
State of Oregon (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Rhode Island (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of South Carolina (Open - Acceptable Response)
State of South Dakota (Open - Unacceptable Response)
State of Tennessee (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Texas (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Utah (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Vermont (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Washington (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of West Virginia (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Wisconsin (Closed - Acceptable Action)
State of Wyoming (Closed - Acceptable Action)
Territory of American Samoa (Closed - Unacceptable Action)
Territory of Guam (Closed - Acceptable Action)
Virgin Islands of the United States (Closed - Acceptable Action)
Keyword(s): Child Restraint Systems

Safety Recommendation History
From: NTSB
To: District of Columbia
Date: 2/25/2003
Response: Motor vehicle crashes remain the number one cause of unintentional death for children. In 2000, there were 2,072 children age 15 or younger killed while riding in motor vehicles. Of those, 53 percent were unrestrained. I understand that on July 26, 2002, you signed legislation that increases the District of Columbia's restraint age to 8 years, effectively protecting children in motor vehicle crashes by requiring them to transition from car seats to booster seats. This is an excellent step towards the goal of reducing child injuries and fatalities. Therefore, Safety Recommendations H-96-14 and -15 are classified "Closed--Acceptable Action."

From: District of Columbia
To: NTSB
Date: 1/9/2003
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 01/22/2003 5:28:13 PM MC# 2030055

From: NTSB
To: District of Columbia
Date: 7/22/2002
Response: NMC101574: The National Transportation Safety Board is aware that you will soon be considering B14-0214, which requires children between birth and 8 years of age to be properly restrained in an age-appropriate child restraint and children under age 12 to be seated in the back seat of the vehicle. . . . By signing B14-0214, you will ensure that the District of Columbia has one of the strongest occupant protection laws in the country for children and adults.

From: NTSB
To: District of Columbia
Date: 9/13/2001
Response: The National Transportation Safety Board has reviewed the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSA) Request for Comments to obtain the views of the public on the use and effectiveness of booster seats published in the Federal Register (Volume 66, Number 159) on August 16, 2001. The Safety Board has exchanged previous correspondence with NHTSA on the need for use of booster seats to provide protection for children who are too small for adult seat belts, but who have outgrown their child safety seats. The Safety Board’s accident investigations and safety studies have shown that children tend to be in restraint systems too advanced for their age, height, and weight, such as moving directly from child restraint systems to seatbelts, rather than using booster seats. In the Safety Board’s 1996 study on the performance and use of child restraint systems, seatbelts, and air bags for children in motor vehicles, the Safety Board found that 73 children in the accident sample should have used booster seats based on their age, height, and weight, but only 11 children did. The Safety Board further found that of the 14 children who used lap/shoulder belts improperly, 14 should have been in booster seats based on their size. The Safety Board concluded in the study that children of all ages need to be properly restrained and should be covered by the States’ child restraint and seat belt use laws. To date, only 3 States have laws that address the use of booster seats for older children. The Safety Board believes that there should be one level of safety across the country for children and it should be the highest level of safety. Attachment 1 includes the Safety Board’s recommendations for the protection of older children. A concern recently expressed by the Safety Board involves the use of booster seats in older vehicles. Booster seats currently on the market are, with one exception, designed for use with lap and shoulder belts. However, lap/shoulder belts have only been required in the outboard seating position of vehicle back seats since 1990. That means that about 34 percent of all cars (some 43 million vehicles) still in use today have lap belts in all back seat positions. Shoulder belts still are not required in the center back seat position, and many current model vehicles, including sport utility vehicles, only have lap belts in the center rear seat position. Certified child safety seat inspectors have told the Safety Board that it is difficult to find booster seats (or equivalent protection for 4- to 8-year-old children) available in retail stores for use in vehicles with lap-only belts. In December 2000, the NTSB sponsored a meeting with safety advocates and representatives of industry and government to identify immediate, short-term, and long-term actions that can be taken to ensure that all children are equally protected when they are traveling on our Nation's roadways. Some of the solutions identified by the participants include the following: • More products, including lap-only belt compatible restraints; • More education of parents of 4-to-8-year old children about the need to use booster seats; • Incentives, such as store/manufacturer coupons, to purchase low-cost booster seats and more availability of booster seats in stores that reach low-income and minority families; and • Retailer education to ensure that booster seats are available. A copy of the proposed solutions can be found in Attachment 2. The Safety Board is concerned that adequate, affordable protection is not readily available for children of these ages when they are transported in cars. Action to make such seats affordable for low-income and minority families should be a part of NHTSA’s program. The Safety Board notes with interest NHTSA’s estimate of the relative effectiveness of seat belts for children 5 to 8 and 9 to 14 years old, however we have not seen the analysis from which the effectiveness estimates are drawn and thus cannot comment on the validity of the assumption that booster seats could increase the effectiveness of lap/shoulder belts for 5- to 8-year-old children by 6 percent. The Board notes that the reported effectiveness estimate is remarkably close to the 5 percent increased effectiveness of air bags when used in conjunction with lap/shoulder belts by front seat occupants.1 The Safety Board appreciates the opportunity to provide comments on NHTSA’s efforts to examine the issue of belt-positioning booster seats.

From: NTSB
To: District of Columbia
Date:
Response: At the 1996 Board meeting addressing the NTSB’s Most Wanted List of Transportation Safety Improvements (MWL), the Board voted to place Safety Recommendations H-95-13, H-95-17, H-95-19, H-95-20, H-96-13, H-96-14, H-96-19, H-96-20, H-96-22, H-96-23, and H-96-31 through H-96-33 on the state MWL under the issue category “Highway Vehicle Occupant Safety.” On May 14, 2002 at the MWL Board meeting, the Board voted to change the name of this category to “Primary Seat Belt Enforcement Laws.” Safety Recommendation H-97-02 was added to this MWL category at a later date.

From: NTSB
To: State of Missouri
Date: 9/16/2006
Response: The Board reviewed and made appropriate changes to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5299U) based on the State’s response (MC2060297, 2060305) to our 6/2/2006 request for an update, which indicated that: On June 29, 2006, Missouri's Governor signed Senate Bill 872, which requires children age 7 and younger (unless 80 pounds or 4 feet, 9 inches tall) to use child restraints or booster seats.

From: State of Missouri
To: NTSB
Date: 6/13/2006
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 6/28/2006 8:50:01 AM MC# 2060305: In the 2006 legislative session, SB 872 was passed (enclosed). This bill adds a booster seat requirement to our child safety law by requiring children ages 4 up to age 8 to be placed in a booster seat or child restraint (unless they weigh more than 80 Ibs or are taller than 4'9' before their 8th birthday). Children 8 through 15 must be either in a booster seat or safety belt whatever is appropriate for the child). The fine for violating these provisions has been increased from $25 to $50. -We are currently awaiting Governor's signature. The legislation becomes effective August 28, 2006.

From: NTSB
To: State of Missouri
Date: 9/20/2005
Response: In its 2005 Board Meeting on State Most Wanted issues, the Safety Board considered State actions taken on Most Wanted recommendations and made changes accordingly based on the following information: Missouri requires children age 3 and younger to use child restraints. As confirmed by MC 2050341, Missouri unsuccessfully considered this session (2005) legislation to raise the age at which children move from child restraints to seat belts.

From: State of Missouri
To: NTSB
Date: 7/5/2005
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/19/2005 2:46:18 PM MC# 2050341: Attempts during the 2005 legislative session were again unsuccessful.

From: NTSB
To: State of Missouri
Date: 6/1/2005
Response: The Safety Board requested an update on this recommendation based on the following information: Since at least 2002, the Missouri legislature has unsuccessfully considered legislation to increase the age at which children move from child restraints (child safety seats and booster seats) to seat belts. Please confirm and provide any new information.

From: NTSB
To: State of Missouri
Date: 9/14/2004
Response: In its 2004 Board Meeting on State Most Wanted issues, the Safety Board considered State actions taken on Most Wanted recommendations and made changes accordingly based on the following information: Since at least 2002, the Missouri legislature has considered legislation to increase the age at which children move from child restraints (child safety seats and booster seats) to seat belts.

From: NTSB
To: State of Missouri
Date: 5/26/2004
Response: (nmc 102485) Enclosed is a table that lists the State safety recommendations still open, including a summary of the progress made on each recommendation, if any. Because we intend to highlight the States' progress on these safety recommendations at our September Board meeting, I ask that you respond to this letter as quickly as possible-but not later than June 30, 2004. Please make sure your response includes any additional relevant information and/or corrects the information we have provided.

From: NTSB
To: State of Missouri
Date: 1/21/2003
Response: The Safety Board notes that the Missouri legislature considered a bill that would have increased the requirement for children to use child safety seats and booster seats to age 8. Although consideration of the bill is a positive step, the bill was not enacted, and Missouri children in the 4 to 8 age range remain at risk. Pending additional efforts to strengthen your child restraint law, Safety Recommendations H-96-14 and -15 are classified "Open--Acceptable Response." Thank you for your efforts in this area. The Safety Board is available to support your efforts on this and other highway safety initiatives by testifying on legislation or meeting with legislators or advocacy groups. Please contact Mr. Kevin Quinlan, Safety Advocacy Division Chief, at (202) 314-6175 if we can be of assistance to you.

From: State of Missouri
To: NTSB
Date: 10/8/2002
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 11/18/2002 10:32:58 AM MC# 2020951 Currently Missouri statute 210.104 requires persons under the age of four to be restrained in a child passenger safety seat. Missouri statute 307.178 states that persons age four or more but less than sixteen shall be restrained-by a j safety belt. Although it did not pass, Senate Bill 647 was introduced in May 2002 amending various provisions regarding the use of child restraint systems in motor vehicles. A summary of the bill is as follows: USE OF CHILD PASSENGER RESTRAINT SYSTEM/BOOSTER SEAT -this act requires children less than four years old, regardless of weight, or children weighing less than forty pounds, regardless of age, to use an appropriate child passenger restraint system. The act requires children at least four years of age but less than eight years of age or who weigh forty pounds to eighty pounds to be secured in a child passenger restraint system or a child booster seat. Children eight years of age or older, or children who are at least eighty pounds, must use a safety belt. The State of Missouri is striving toward better laws and regulations regarding the safety of children traveling on Missouri's roadways. Thank for your concerns and recommendations.

From: NTSB
To: State of Missouri
Date: 3/25/2002
Response: NMC101249: I understand that the Missouri Senate will hear Senate Bill 647 in the first week of April. This bill would require that all children through age eight or less than 80 pounds use a child passenger restraint system while riding in a motor vehicle. . . . Children are put at risk every day in Missouri because its laws to not require the use of booster seats and parents do not know that booster seats are necessary to ensure proper seatbelt fit. . . . I hope that the Missouri Senate will promptly consider and pass Senate Bill 647, and that the Missouri House will act positively on this measure.

From: NTSB
To: State of Missouri
Date:
Response: At the 1996 Board meeting addressing the NTSB’s Most Wanted List of Transportation Safety Improvements (MWL), the Board voted to place Safety Recommendations H-95-13, H-95-17, H-95-19, H-95-20, H-96-13, H-96-14, H-96-19, H-96-20, H-96-22, H-96-23, and H-96-31 through H-96-33 on the state MWL under the issue category “Highway Vehicle Occupant Safety.” On May 14, 2002 at the MWL Board meeting, the Board voted to change the name of this category to “Primary Seat Belt Enforcement Laws.” Safety Recommendation H-97-02 was added to this MWL category at a later date.

From: Commonwealth of Virginia
To: NTSB
Date: 7/9/2008
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/10/2008 12:04:37 PM MC# 2080409

From: NTSB
To: Commonwealth of Virginia
Date: 9/18/2007
Response: The Board queried the State on 5/17/07 (nmc 103049), then reviewed--and made changes, if appropriate--to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5299Y) based on the following information: On April 10, 2007, Virginia's Governor signed Senate Bill 1060/House Bill 1908, which raises to age 8 the point at which children move from child restraints to seat belts. Virginia now requires children age 7 and younger to use child restraints.

From: Commonwealth of Virginia
To: NTSB
Date: 7/13/2007
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/13/2007 12:22:52 PM MC# 2070347

From: NTSB
To: Commonwealth of Virginia
Date: 1/25/2007
Response: I understand that on January 26th, the Virginia House Transportation Subcommittee will be considering House Bill 1908 (H.B. 1908), which would require that all children less than 8 years old use a child restraint system while riding in a motor vehicle in the Commonwealth of Virginia. On behalf of the National Transportation Safety Board, I thank you for your consideration of this important measure, which will reduce the number of children injured or killed on Virginia roads by providing additional, necessary protection for children ages 6 and 7. Highway crashes are the leading cause of death for children in this age range, but proper restraint use can make a significant difference. Because seat belts are designed to provide optimal protection for adults, they cannot sufficiently protect children. A study conducted by The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia found that children inappropriately restrained in seat belts suffered injuries to all body regions, while no abdominal, neck/spine/back, or lower extremity injuries were reported among children restrained in booster seats. Children restrained in seat belts alone are three-and-a-half times more likely to suffer abdominal injury and four times more likely to suffer a serious head injury than children appropriately restrained with booster seats. Using a booster seat reduces a child’s risk of injury by 59 percent. The Safety Board’s 1996 study of the performance and use of occupant protection systems for children found that children inappropriately restrained by seat belts had more serious injuries than children who were properly restrained. Of the children who used seat belts improperly, 64 percent suffered moderate to severe injuries. Poor seat belt fit was the primary reason for the improper usage. As a result of the study, the Board recommended that children ages 4 through 7 be required by State law to use booster seats. Virginia recognized the positive effect legislation has on proper restraint use when, in 2002, the Commonwealth revised its child restraint law to require child restraints through age 5. According to research by Partners for Child Passenger Safety , booster seat use in Virginia has increased over the last several years. However, children are still being put at risk every day in Virginia because its current law does not reflect best practice by requiring child restraint use through age 7. H.B. 1908 would help prevent needless deaths and injuries by closing the gap in Virginia’s child restraint law to include 6- and 7-year-olds. Improving child passenger safety laws is a priority for the Safety Board; this recommendation is on our list of Most Wanted safety recommendations. Thirty-eight States and the District of Columbia have enacted child passenger safety laws to address the need for booster seats. But of those 38 States, 23 do not have comprehensive laws that cover the entire age range we recommend (ages 4 through 7), and the Commonwealth of Virginia is one of them. I hope that you will vote in favor of H.B. 1908 so that the roadways will be made safer for children traveling in Virginia. Thank you for your attention to this important issue.

From: NTSB
To: Commonwealth of Virginia
Date: 9/16/2006
Response: The Board reviewed and made appropriate changes to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5299U) based on the State’s response (MC2060339) to our 6/2/2006 request for an update, which indicated that: As confirmed by MC 2060339, Virginia requires children age 5 and younger to use child restraints.

From: Commonwealth of Virginia
To: NTSB
Date: 7/7/2006
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/17/2006 3:15:35 PM MC# 2060339

From: NTSB
To: Commonwealth of Virginia
Date: 9/20/2005
Response: In its 2005 Board Meeting on State Most Wanted issues, the Safety Board considered State actions taken on Most Wanted recommendations and made changes accordingly based on the following information: As confirmed by MC 2050332, Virginia requires children age 5 and younger to use child restraints.

From: Commonwealth of Virginia
To: NTSB
Date: 7/6/2005
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/19/2005 12:28:35 PM MC# 2050332: There bas been no change to Virginia’s law. Any child through age 5 is required to be in a child restraint device unless exempted for medical reasons or under Virginia Code 46.2-1100 which states that the use of a standard equipment belt is permitted if a child is at least 4 years of age but under 6 if the weight and size of the child make the use of child restraints impractical. However, statute does require under Virginia Code #46.2-1095 that all children Iess than sixteen years old, except for those required to be in a child restraint device, must be secured by an appropriate safety belt system.

From: NTSB
To: Commonwealth of Virginia
Date: 6/1/2005
Response: Virginia's most recent correspondence (07/02/2004) did not address this issue, but the Safety Board is aware that Virginia has not changed its existing law, which requires children under age 6 to use child restraints (child safety seats and booster seats). Please confirm and provide any new information.

From: NTSB
To: Commonwealth of Virginia
Date: 9/14/2004
Response: In its 2004 Board Meeting on State Most Wanted issues, the Safety Board considered State actions taken on Most Wanted recommendations and made changes accordingly based on the following information: No response received, but no change to existing law, which requires children under age 6 to use child restraints (child safety seats and booster seats).

From: Commonwealth of Virginia
To: NTSB
Date: 7/2/2004
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/13/2004 9:14:22 AM MC# 2040404: Virginia’s current law requires children age 5 and younger to use child restraint systems.

From: NTSB
To: Commonwealth of Virginia
Date: 5/26/2004
Response: (nmc 102485) Enclosed is a table that lists the State safety recommendations still open, including a summary of the progress made on each recommendation, if any. Because we intend to highlight the States' progress on these safety recommendations at our September Board meeting, I ask that you respond to this letter as quickly as possible-but not later than June 30, 2004. Please make sure your response includes any additional relevant information and/or corrects the information we have provided.

From: NTSB
To: Commonwealth of Virginia
Date: 6/27/2002
Response: The Safety Board is aware that on April 16, 2002, you signed legislation that increases Virginia's child restraint age to 6 years-effectively protecting children in motor vehicle accidents by requiring them to transition from car seats to booster seats. This is an excellent step towards the goal of reducing child injuries and fatalities, and therefore, Safety Recommendation H-96-14 is classified "Open--Acceptable Response," pending action by the Commonwealth of Virginia to extend the law to apply through age 7 for children who also need this additional protection. I commend you for your commitment to transportation safety and congratulate you on leading the way to protect young children from deaths and injuries related to motor vehicle crashes.

From: NTSB
To: Commonwealth of Virginia
Date: 12/2/1997
Response: THE BOARD IS AWARE THAT VIRGINIA PLANS EDUCATION EFFORTS TO INCREASE PUBLIC AWARENESS OF THE NEED FOR BOOSTER SEATS FOR CHILDREN WHO HAVE OUTGROWN CONVERTIBLE CHILD SAFETY SEATS BUT WHO ARE NOT LARGE ENOUGH FOR LAP/SHOULDER BELTS. THE BOARD'S 1996 STUDY ON THE PERFORMANCE & USE OF CHILD RESTRAINT SYSTEMS, SEATBELTS, & AIR BAGS FOR CHILDREN IN PASSENGER VEHICLES FOUND THAT SMALL CHILDREN ARE NOT LIKELY TO USE ADULT SEATBELT (LAP- ONLY BELTS & LAP/SHOULDER BELTS) PROPERLY. THE BOARD FOUND THAT 12 OF 37 CHILDREN WHO WORE LAP-ONLY BELTS SUSTAINED INJURY OF MODERATE OR WORSE SEVERITY. THESE CHILDREN TYPICALLY SUSTAINED HEAD, ABDOMINAL, & SPINAL INJURIES. THE ABDOMINAL & SPINAL INJURIES WERE LAP-BELT-INDUCED; THE HEAD INJURIES WERE THE RESULT OF NOT HAVING UPPER TORSO PROTECTION. THE BOARD IS DISAPPOINTED THAT VIRGINIA'S CHILD RESTRAINT LAW STILL PERMITS SUBSTITUTION OF A SEATBLET FOR CHILDREN 4 TO 8 YEARS OLD. THE BOARD'S STUDY ALSO FOUND THAT CHILDREN LESS THAN 54 INCHES TALL DO NOT PROPERLY FIT IN A LAP/SHOULDER BELT. BOOSTER SEATS ARE NECESSARY FOR IMPROVED SEATBELT FIT & TO REDUCE THE NUMBER OF FATALITIES & INJURIES TO CHILDREN IN THIS AGE RANGE. THE BOARD REALIZES THAT ADDITIONAL LEGISLATIVE ACTION IN RESPONSE TO RECMENDATIONS H-94-14 & H-96-15 IS UNLIKELY IN THIS LEGISLATIVE SESSION SINCE LEGISLATIVE TO STRENGTHEN THE STATE'S CHILD RESTRAINT LAW WAS JUST ENACTED. HOWEVER, THE BOARD URGES VIRGINIA TO CONSIDER FURTHER STRENGTHENING THE LAW IN THE JUST ENACATED. HOWEVER, THE BOARD URGES VIRGINIA CONSIDER FURTHER STRENGTHENIN THE LAW IN THE NEXT LEGISLATIVE SESSION. PENDING SUCH ACTION, H-94-14 IS CLASSIFIED "OPEN--ACCEPTABLE RESPONSE." H-96-15 IS CLASSIFIED "OPEN--UNACCEPTABLE RESPONSE."

From: Commonwealth of Virginia
To: NTSB
Date: 5/8/1997
Response: FROM DR. ALAN WAMBOLD RESEARCH ASSOCIATE RESPONDED ON BEHALF OF DELEGATE THOMAS W. MOSS, JR. HE PROVIDED US WITH A COPY OF CHAPTER 793 OF THE 1977 ACTS OF ASSEMBLY, ENACTED TO ADDRESS MANY OF THE CONCERNS RAISED BY OUR RECOMMENDATIONS. EFFECTIVE 7/1/97, VIRGINIA WILL IMPLEMENT A REVISED PRIMARY SEATBELT LAW THAT PERTAINS TO ISSUES OF SEATBELTS & CHILDREN AGES 4 TO 16. IN SUMMARY, THE LAW "REQUIRES DRIVERS WHO ARE TRANSPORTING CHILDREN AT LEAST FOUR BUT LESS THAN SIXTEEN YEARS OF AGE TO ENSURE THAT SUCH CHILDREN ARE PROVIDED & PROPERLY SECURED WITH SEATBELTS."

From: Commonwealth of Virginia
To: NTSB
Date: 4/23/1997
Response:

From: NTSB
To: Commonwealth of Virginia
Date: 4/1/1997
Response: THE BOARD ENCOURAGES THE STATE TO REEXAMINE THESE PROVISIONS IN THE CHILD RESTRAINT & SEATBELT USE LAWS. H-96-14 THROUGH -16 ARE CLASSLIFIED AS "OPEN--AWAIT RESPONSE."

From: Commonwealth of Virginia
To: NTSB
Date: 12/11/1996
Response: ROBERT E. MARTINEZ, VIRGINIA SECRETARY OF TRANSPORTATION RESPONDED ON BEHALF OF GOVERNOR GEORGE ALLEN. HE STATED THAT THE COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA IS UNALTERABLY COMMITTED OT HIGHWAY SAFETY & ANY INITIATIVES WHICH HAVE THE POTENTIAL TO REDUCE HIGHWAY FATALITIES & SERIOUS INJURIES. VIRGINIA HAS SUBMITTED A COMPREHENSIVE GRANT PROPOSAL TO THE NAOPC SEEKING OVER $450,000 IN PRIVATE FUNDING TO SUPPLEMENT THEIR U.S. DOT 402 HIGHWAY SAFETY & STATE FUNDS. THIS REQUEST WILL SUPPORT THEIR COMPREHENSIVE PUBLIC EDUCATION/ENFORCEMENT EFFORTS OVER THE NEXT 18 MONTHS TO INCREASE CORRECT USAGE RATES OF OCCUPANT PROTECTION DEVICES IN VIRGINIA. THEY PARTICIPATED IN THE NAOPC'S AIR BAG SAFETY COMPAIGN THANKSGIVING WEEKEND INITIATIVE & VIRGINIA'S DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE, IN COOPERATION WITH LOCAL LAW ENFORCEMENT & DRIVE SMART VIRGINIA, HAVE BEEN CONDUCTING SEVERAL ENFORCEMENT ACTIVITIES ACROSS THE STATE USING NORTH CAROLINA'S "CLICK-IT-OR-TICKET" PROGRAM AS THEIR MODEL. THEY FEEL THEY HAVE BEEN SUCCESSFUL IN IMPLEMENTING PROGRAMS & SUPPORTING INITIATIVES DEDICATED TO SAVING LIVES ON OUR ROADWAYS. HE ASSURED US THAT VIRGINIA WILL CONTINUE TO BUILD UPON ITS HIGHWAY SAFETY/OCCUPANT PROTECTION PROGRAM BY AGGRESSIVELY PROMOTING & ENFORCING THE CORRECT USAGE OF OCCUPANT PROTECTION RESTRAINT SYSTEMS.

From: NTSB
To: Commonwealth of Virginia
Date:
Response: At the 1996 Board meeting addressing the NTSB’s Most Wanted List of Transportation Safety Improvements (MWL), the Board voted to place Safety Recommendations H-95-13, H-95-17, H-95-19, H-95-20, H-96-13, H-96-14, H-96-19, H-96-20, H-96-22, H-96-23, and H-96-31 through H-96-33 on the state MWL under the issue category “Highway Vehicle Occupant Safety.” On May 14, 2002 at the MWL Board meeting, the Board voted to change the name of this category to “Primary Seat Belt Enforcement Laws.” Safety Recommendation H-97-02 was added to this MWL category at a later date.

From: NTSB
To: State of Connecticut
Date: 9/20/2005
Response: In its 2005 Board Meeting on State Most Wanted issues, the Safety Board considered State actions taken on Most Wanted recommendations and made changes accordingly based on the following information: As confirmed by MC 2050312, on June 2, 2005, Connecticut's Governor signed legislation requiring children age 6 and younger (and less than 60 pounds) to use child restraints.

From: State of Connecticut
To: NTSB
Date: 7/11/2005
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/12/2005 3:17:26 PM MC# 2050312

From: NTSB
To: State of Connecticut
Date: 6/1/2005
Response: The Safety Board requested an update on this recommendation based on the following information: The Safety Board is aware that the Connecticut legislature passed this session (2005) House Bill 6660, which now awaits the Governor's signature. Please confirm and provide any new information.

From: NTSB
To: State of Connecticut
Date: 9/14/2004
Response: In its 2004 Board Meeting on State Most Wanted issues, the Safety Board considered State actions taken on Most Wanted recommendations and made changes accordingly based on the following information: Since at least 2002, and as noted in MC 2040461, the Connecticut legislature has considered legislation to increase the age at which children move from child restraints (child safety seats and booster seats) to seat belts. During the 2004 legislative session, several bills were introduced but failed to pass. There is an ongoing educational campaign. Community outreach through established permanent fitting stations reinforce statewide education efforts.

From: State of Connecticut
To: NTSB
Date: 7/23/2004
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/26/2004 2:39:30 PM MC# 2040461: Once again, during the 2004 legislative session, several bills were introduced but failed to pass. Educational campaign ongoing (see enclosed samples). Community outreach, through established permanent fitting stations, reinforce statewide education efforts.

From: NTSB
To: State of Connecticut
Date: 5/26/2004
Response: (nmc 102485) Enclosed is a table that lists the State safety recommendations still open, including a summary of the progress made on each recommendation, if any. Because we intend to highlight the States' progress on these safety recommendations at our September Board meeting, I ask that you respond to this letter as quickly as possible-but not later than June 30, 2004. Please make sure your response includes any additional relevant information and/or corrects the information we have provided.

From: NTSB
To: State of Connecticut
Date: 3/15/2002
Response: NMC101225: I understand that the Transportation Committee will soon hear Senate Bill 85, which would require that all children through five years of age use a child passenger restraint system while riding in a motor vehicle. . . . Children are put at risk every day in Connecticut because its laws do not require the use of booster seats and parents do not know that booster seats are necessary to ensure proper seatbelt fit. . . . I hope that the Connecticut Legislature will promptly enact legislation, such as Senate Bill 85, to provide the best possible protection for children of all ages while they are riding in a motor vehicle.

From: NTSB
To: State of Connecticut
Date:
Response: At the 1996 Board meeting addressing the NTSB’s Most Wanted List of Transportation Safety Improvements (MWL), the Board voted to place Safety Recommendations H-95-13, H-95-17, H-95-19, H-95-20, H-96-13, H-96-14, H-96-19, H-96-20, H-96-22, H-96-23, and H-96-31 through H-96-33 on the state MWL under the issue category “Highway Vehicle Occupant Safety.” On May 14, 2002 at the MWL Board meeting, the Board voted to change the name of this category to “Primary Seat Belt Enforcement Laws.” Safety Recommendation H-97-02 was added to this MWL category at a later date.

From: NTSB
To: State of New Mexico
Date: 9/20/2005
Response: In its 2005 Board Meeting on State Most Wanted issues, the Safety Board considered State actions taken on Most Wanted recommendations and made changes accordingly based on the following information: On April 7, 2005, New Mexico's Governor signed SB 586, which requires children age 6 and younger (or less than 60 pounds) to use child restraints.

From: State of New Mexico
To: NTSB
Date: 8/5/2005
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 8/10/2005 11:57:27 AM MC# 2050372: Children 7-12 shall be properly secured in a child passenger (end text).

From: NTSB
To: State of New Mexico
Date: 6/1/2005
Response: The Safety Board requested an update on this recommendation based on the following information: The Safety Board is aware that on April 7, 2005, New Mexico's Governor signed Senate Bill 586, which requires children to be in child restraints (child safety seats or booster seats) until age 7 or 60 pounds. Please confirm.

From: State of New Mexico
To: NTSB
Date: 10/5/2004
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 10/13/2004 10:15:40 AM MC# 2040620

From: NTSB
To: State of New Mexico
Date: 9/14/2004
Response: In its 2004 Board Meeting on State Most Wanted issues, the Safety Board considered State actions taken on Most Wanted recommendations and made changes accordingly based on the following information:No response received on this issue. Children under age 5 must use child safety seats, and children age 5 to age 8 can use seat belts. Staff has no knowledge of appropriate legislation.

From: NTSB
To: State of New Mexico
Date: 5/26/2004
Response: (nmc 102485) Enclosed is a table that lists the State safety recommendations still open, including a summary of the progress made on each recommendation, if any. Because we intend to highlight the States' progress on these safety recommendations at our September Board meeting, I ask that you respond to this letter as quickly as possible-but not later than June 30, 2004. Please make sure your response includes any additional relevant information and/or corrects the information we have provided.

From: NTSB
To: State of New Mexico
Date:
Response: At the 1996 Board meeting addressing the NTSB’s Most Wanted List of Transportation Safety Improvements (MWL), the Board voted to place Safety Recommendations H-95-13, H-95-17, H-95-19, H-95-20, H-96-13, H-96-14, H-96-19, H-96-20, H-96-22, H-96-23, and H-96-31 through H-96-33 on the state MWL under the issue category “Highway Vehicle Occupant Safety.” On May 14, 2002 at the MWL Board meeting, the Board voted to change the name of this category to “Primary Seat Belt Enforcement Laws.” Safety Recommendation H-97-02 was added to this MWL category at a later date.

From: State of Nebraska
To: NTSB
Date: 11/14/2014
Response: -From Fred E. Zwonechek, Administrator, Nebraska Office of Highway Safety: No legislation was introduced in 2013 or 2014 to increase the child restraint law through age 7.

From: NTSB
To: State of Nebraska
Date: 9/4/2014
Response: In 2013 or 2014, did Nebraska consider applicable legislation? Will Nebraska pursue legislation to require child restraints through age 7 (as recommended by the NTSB)?

From: NTSB
To: State of Nebraska
Date: 11/8/2010
Response: On November 8, 2010, the Board reviewed and made appropriate changes to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5300M) based on the following information: Nebraska requires children age 5 and younger to use child restraints. According to a July 15, 2010, e-mail, Nebraska reports that it did not pursue applicable legislation the past two legislative sessions. Additionally, Nebraska reported that it will pursue applicable legislation during the 2011 legislative session.

From: State of Nebraska
To: NTSB
Date: 7/15/2010
Response: -From Fred E. Zwonechek, Nebraska Highway Safety Administrator: No legislative proposal requiring the addition of ages 6 and 7 to Nebraska's child passenger restraint law was introduced during the two most recent legislative sessions. Several Nebraska CPS organizations are seeking out a member of the Legislature to introduce such a provision in the upcoming 2011 Session.

From: NTSB
To: State of Nebraska
Date: 7/6/2010
Response:

From: State of Nebraska
To: NTSB
Date: 7/9/2009
Response: -From Beverly Neth, Director, Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles: Nebraska remains committed to child passenger safety and will continue to pursue recommendations related to the same.

From: NTSB
To: State of Nebraska
Date: 11/20/2008
Response: The Board reviewed and made appropriate changes to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5300G) based on the following information: Nebraska requires children age 5 and younger to use child restraints. Nebraska considered applicable legislation in 2007 and 2008. Nebraska reported that legislation that would require child restraint use up to age 8 is expected to be introduced during the 2009 legislative session.

From: State of Nebraska
To: NTSB
Date: 7/22/2008
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/23/2008 3:21:57 PM MC# 2080443: We have been advised that another legislative proposal to increase the booster seat law requirement up to age 8 is expected to be introduced in the upcomming January 2009 Legislative session.

From: NTSB
To: State of Nebraska
Date: 9/18/2007
Response: The Board queried the State on 5/17/07 (nmc 103049), then reviewed--and made changes, if appropriate--to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5299Y) based on the following information: Nebraska requires children age 5 and younger to use child restraints. Nebraska considered applicable legislation in 2007.

From: State of Nebraska
To: NTSB
Date: 6/25/2007
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/3/2007 10:02:41 AM MC# 2070315: No changes for 2007

From: NTSB
To: State of Nebraska
Date: 9/16/2006
Response: The Board reviewed and made appropriate changes to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5299U) based on the State’s response (MC2060345) to our 6/2/2006 request for an update, which indicated that: Nebraska requires children age 5 and younger to use child restraints. According to MC 2060345, several local child protection organizations appear to be seeking sponsors for legislation to raise the requirement to age 8.

From: State of Nebraska
To: NTSB
Date: 7/17/2006
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/19/2006 10:30:52 AM MC# 2060345: The Nebraska Legislature did not change the child restraint use requirement beyond age 5 in the past legislative session. It is our understanding that several local Child Protection organizations are seeking sponsors for legislation to intoduce a booster seat law that would increase the requirement up to age 8.

From: NTSB
To: State of Nebraska
Date: 9/20/2005
Response: In its 2005 Board Meeting on State Most Wanted issues, the Safety Board considered State actions taken on Most Wanted recommendations and made changes accordingly based on the following information: As confirmed by MC 2050309, Nebraska requires children age 5 and younger to use child restraints. Staff contacted Nebraska and was informed that Nebraska did not consider this session (2005) legislation to raise to age 8 the point at which children move from child restraints to seat belts.

From: State of Nebraska
To: NTSB
Date: 7/8/2005
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/12/2005 2:28:17 PM MC# 2050309: We can confirm that the information regarding the status of this recommendation is correct.

From: NTSB
To: State of Nebraska
Date: 6/1/2005
Response: The Safety Board requested an update on this recommendation based on the following information: According to Nebraska's most recent correspondence (07/14/2004), Nebraska has not changed its child passenger safety law since 2002, when Nebraska required children under age 6 to use child restraints (child safety seats or booster seats). Please confirm and provide any new information.

From: NTSB
To: State of Nebraska
Date: 9/14/2004
Response: In its 2004 Board Meeting on State Most Wanted issues, the Safety Board considered State actions taken on Most Wanted recommendations and made changes accordingly based on the following information: According to MC 2040413, Nebraska has not changed its child passenger safety law since 2002, when Nebraska required children under age 6 to use child restraints (child safety seats or booster seats).

From: State of Nebraska
To: NTSB
Date: 7/14/2004
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/15/2004 10:32:49 AM MC# 2040413: H-96-014: Nebraska law was revised in 2002 (LB 1373) to include that all chiid passengers up to age 6 must be restrained in a federally approved child restraint system, with booster seats optional for children 5 years of age.

From: NTSB
To: State of Nebraska
Date: 5/26/2004
Response: (nmc 102485) Enclosed is a table that lists the State safety recommendations still open, including a summary of the progress made on each recommendation, if any. Because we intend to highlight the States' progress on these safety recommendations at our September Board meeting, I ask that you respond to this letter as quickly as possible-but not later than June 30, 2004. Please make sure your response includes any additional relevant information and/or corrects the information we have provided.

From: NTSB
To: State of Nebraska
Date: 9/20/2002
Response: I understand that on April 17, 2002, you signed Legislative Bill 1073 into law, increasing Nebraska's restraint age to 6 years, and effectively protecting children in motor vehicle accidents by requiring them to transition from car seats to booster seats. This is an excellent step towards the goal of reducing child injuries and fatalities, and therefore, Safety Recommendations H-96-14 and -15 are classified "Open--Acceptable Response." Because the State of Nebraska has also implemented legislation to require children 8 years or older to use seat belts, Safety Recommendation H-96-16 is classified "Closed--Acceptable Action." I encourage the State of Nebraska to extend the child restraint law to apply through age 7 for children who also need this additional protection.

From: NTSB
To: State of Nebraska
Date: 1/28/2002
Response: I understand that on January 29, the Transportation Committee will hear Legislative Bill 1073, which would require that all children under 8 years of age use a child passenger restraint system while riding in a motor vehicle. I hope that the Nebraska Legislature will promptly enact legislation, such as Legislative Bill 1073, to provide the best possible protection for children of all ages while they are riding in a motor vehicle.

From: NTSB
To: State of Nebraska
Date:
Response: At the 1996 Board meeting addressing the NTSB’s Most Wanted List of Transportation Safety Improvements (MWL), the Board voted to place Safety Recommendations H-95-13, H-95-17, H-95-19, H-95-20, H-96-13, H-96-14, H-96-19, H-96-20, H-96-22, H-96-23, and H-96-31 through H-96-33 on the state MWL under the issue category “Highway Vehicle Occupant Safety.” On May 14, 2002 at the MWL Board meeting, the Board voted to change the name of this category to “Primary Seat Belt Enforcement Laws.” Safety Recommendation H-97-02 was added to this MWL category at a later date.

From: NTSB
To: Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
Date: 8/14/2003
Response: Motor vehicle crashes remain the number one cause of unintentional death for children. Research, including the 1996 study by the Safety Board, has shown that children should be in restraint systems that are appropriate for their age, height, and weight. Ideally, children should remain in child restraints (child safety seats or booster seats) until they are at least 54 inches tall. Safety Recommendation H-96-14 uses age as a surrogate for size because the Board concluded that age would be easier to enforce. Because your child passenger safety law requires child restraints for children less than 80 pounds and less than 54 inches in height, it does address the appropriate restraint for a child's size. Safety Recommendation H-96-14 is therefore classified "Closed--Acceptable Action."

From: Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
To: NTSB
Date: 4/16/2003
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 5/7/2003 2:36:18 PM MC# 2030227: The following is the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands' (CNMI) implementation of a series recommendation to address the graduated driver licensing, impaired driving, child passenger safety and seat belt use in an effort to help reduce the number of unnecessary deaths and injuries on our highways. Child Passenger Safety: In 1990, Public Law No. 6-20, require the wearing of passenger restraints in motor vehicles and to require the driver of a motor vehicle to secure all children up to the age of twelve to wear child restraint system, seat belts or harnesses. The driver of a car, van or pickup truck in which a child under five years of age is being transported shall secure such child during transit by a child passenger restraint system which conforms to the federal National Traffic and Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1966. If a child under the five years of age has outgrown the standard size child passenger restraint system, the driver shall secure the child by a passenger restraint system, if the child in under 80 pounds weight and 54 inches of height, the child shall be provided with a booster seat that conforms to the federal motor vehicle safety standards issued pursuant to the federal National Traffic and Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1966. As of April 1997, the CNMI amend Section 4108, 9 CMC, Division 4, relating to passenger restraint systems as they relate to children, to provide for an increase in the minimum fine from $50.00 to $250.00. See attachment (Gov. Comm House 6-84 and P.L. 10-55).

From: NTSB
To: Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
Date: 2/25/2003
Response: Over the past 10 years, the Safety Board has issued to your territory a series of recommendations to address graduated driver licensing, impaired driving, child passenger safety, and seat belt use in an effort to help reduce the number of unnecessary deaths and injuries on our highways. Enclosed are summaries of our recommendations and how implementing the recommendations can improve highway safety in your territory. You can find the complete text of our recommendation letters on our Web site at http://www.ntsb.gov/Recs/letters/letters.htm. The Safety Board is interested in knowing whether and how its recommendations are implemented, both to ensure that the traveling public is provided the highest level of safety, and to identify creative solutions that might be shared with others. That is why we monitor its implementation of all our recommendations. The Board would like to know of your progress in implementing the legislation called for in our highway safety recommendations. Questions about these recommendations can be addressed to Mr. Kevin Quinlan, Safety Advocacy Division Chief, at (202) 314-6175 or Quinlak@NTSB.GOV.

From: NTSB
To: Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
Date:
Response: At the 1996 Board meeting addressing the NTSB’s Most Wanted List of Transportation Safety Improvements (MWL), the Board voted to place Safety Recommendations H-95-13, H-95-17, H-95-19, H-95-20, H-96-13, H-96-14, H-96-19, H-96-20, H-96-22, H-96-23, and H-96-31 through H-96-33 on the state MWL under the issue category “Highway Vehicle Occupant Safety.” On May 14, 2002 at the MWL Board meeting, the Board voted to change the name of this category to “Primary Seat Belt Enforcement Laws.” Safety Recommendation H-97-02 was added to this MWL category at a later date.

From: NTSB
To: State of North Carolina
Date: 9/14/2004
Response: In its 2004 Board Meeting on State Most Wanted issues, the Safety Board considered State actions taken on Most Wanted recommendations and made changes accordingly based on the following information: According to MC 2040393, the North Carolina legislature has introduced and is considering a bill that would require all children up to age 8 to use child restraints (child safety seats or booster seats) in all seating positions. Staff has since determined that the bill was enacted on August 18, 2004.

From: State of North Carolina
To: NTSB
Date: 7/9/2004
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/12/2004 10:45:51 AM MC# 2040393: The North Carolina General Assembly has inrroduced and is considering a bill that would require all children up to 8 years of age to use child restraint systems or booster seats, in all seated positions.

From: NTSB
To: State of North Carolina
Date: 5/26/2004
Response: (nmc 102485) Enclosed is a table that lists the State safety recommendations still open, including a summary of the progress made on each recommendation, if any. Because we intend to highlight the States' progress on these safety recommendations at our September Board meeting, I ask that you respond to this letter as quickly as possible-but not later than June 30, 2004. Please make sure your response includes any additional relevant information and/or corrects the information we have provided.

From: NTSB
To: State of North Carolina
Date: 11/17/1999
Response: THE SAFETY BOARD IS PLEASED TO LEARN THAT SENATE BILL 65 NOW REQUIRES ALL CHILDREN UNDER 16 YEARS OF AGE TO TRAVEL PROPERLY SECURED IN A CHILD RESTRAINT SYSTEM OR IN A SEAT BELT AT ALL TIMES AND IN ALL SEATING POSITIONS AND HAS INCREASED THE MANDATORY USE OF A CHILD RESTRAINT TO THE FIFTH BIRTHDAY. NORTH CAROLINA'S NEW CHILD RESTRAINT LAW, HOWEVER, DOES NOT REQUIRE CHILDREN BETWEEN THE AGES 5 AND 8 TO BE RESTRAINED IN AN AGE-APPROPRIATE RESTRAINT SYSTEM, SUCH AS A BOOSTER SEAT, AS REQUESTED IN H-96-14. THE BOARD REALIZES THAT ADDITIONAL LEGISLATIVE ACTION IN RESPONSE TO H-96-14 IS UNLIKELY IN THIS LEGISLATIVE SESSION BECAUSE SENATE BILL 65 WAS JUST ENACTED. HOWEVER, THE BOARD URGES NORTH CAROLINA TO CONSIDER STRENGTHENING THE LAW IN THE NEXT LEGISLATIVE SESSION. H-96-14 IS CLASSIFIED "OPEN--ACCEPTABLE RESPONSE."

From: State of North Carolina
To: NTSB
Date: 6/29/1999
Response: THE ROLE OF LAW ENFORCEMENT AND OTHER SAFETY ADVOCATES WILL INCREASE SIGNIFICANTLY THIS FALL. GOVERNOR HUNT LAST WEEK SIGNED SENATE BILL 65, WHICH WILL INCREASE OCCUPANT PROTECTION COVERAGE FOR CHILDREN. THE NEW LAW WILL REQUIRE ALL CHILDREN UNDER 16 YEARS OF AGE TO TRAVEL PROPERLY SECURED IN A CHILD RESTRAINT SYSTEM OR IN A SEAT BELT AT ALL TIMES AND IN ALL SEATING POSITIONS. THE MANDATORY USE OF A CHILD RESTRAINT SYSTEM WILL BE INCREASED TO THE FIFTH BIRTHDAY. THAT RESTRAINT MUST BE SECURED IN THE BACK SEAT OF A VEHICLE IF THE VEHICLE HAS AN ACTIVE PASSENGER-SIDE AIRBAG AND A BACK SEAT THAT CAN ACCOMMODATE THE RESTRAINT. IF THE RESTRAINT IS DESIGNED FOR USE WITH AN ACTIVE PASSENGER-SIDE AIRBAG, IT MAY BE USED IN THE FRONT SEAT.

From: NTSB
To: State of North Carolina
Date:
Response: At the 1996 Board meeting addressing the NTSB’s Most Wanted List of Transportation Safety Improvements (MWL), the Board voted to place Safety Recommendations H-95-13, H-95-17, H-95-19, H-95-20, H-96-13, H-96-14, H-96-19, H-96-20, H-96-22, H-96-23, and H-96-31 through H-96-33 on the state MWL under the issue category “Highway Vehicle Occupant Safety.” On May 14, 2002 at the MWL Board meeting, the Board voted to change the name of this category to “Primary Seat Belt Enforcement Laws.” Safety Recommendation H-97-02 was added to this MWL category at a later date.

From: NTSB
To: State of New Hampshire
Date: 9/4/2014
Response: In 2013 or 2014, did New Hampshire consider applicable legislation? Will New Hampshire pursue legislation to require child restraints through age 7 (as recommended by the NTSB)?

From: NTSB
To: State of New Hampshire
Date: 11/8/2010
Response: On November 8, 2010, the Board reviewed and made appropriate changes to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5300M) based on the following information: New Hampshire requires children age 5 and younger (and less than 55 inches) to use child restraints.

From: NTSB
To: State of New Hampshire
Date: 11/20/2008
Response: The Board reviewed and made appropriate changes to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5300G) based on the following information: New Hampshire requires children age 5 and younger (and less than 55 inches) to use child restraints. New Hampshire did not consider applicable legislation in 2007 or 2008.

From: NTSB
To: State of New Hampshire
Date: 9/18/2007
Response: The Board queried the State on 5/17/07 (nmc 103049), then reviewed--and made changes, if appropriate--to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5299Y) based on the following information: New Hampshire requires children age 5 and younger (and less than 55 inches) to use child restraints. New Hampshire considered applicable legislation in 2006. New Hampshire did not consider applicable legislation in 2007 and is not expected to consider it in 2008.

From: NTSB
To: State of New Hampshire
Date: 9/16/2006
Response: The Board reviewed and made appropriate changes to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5299U) based on the following information: New Hampshire requires children age 5 and younger (and less than 55 inches) to use child restraints.

From: NTSB
To: State of New Hampshire
Date: 9/20/2005
Response: In its 2005 Board Meeting on State Most Wanted issues, the Safety Board considered State actions taken on Most Wanted recommendations and made changes accordingly based on the following information: As confirmed by MC 2050357, New Hampshire requires children age 5 and younger (and less than 55 inches) to use child restraints. Staff contacted New Hampshire and was informed that New Hampshire did not consider this session (2005) legislation to raise to age 8 the point at which children move from child restraints to seat belts.

From: State of New Hampshire
To: NTSB
Date: 7/22/2005
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/25/2005 3:14:44 PM MC# 2050357: Confirm.

From: NTSB
To: State of New Hampshire
Date: 6/1/2005
Response: The Safety Board requested an update on this recommendation based on the following information: As noted in New Hampshire's most recent correspondence (07/26/2004), New Hampshire has not changed its child passenger safety law, which requires children under age 6 and less than 55 inches to use child restraints. Please confirm and provide any new information.

From: NTSB
To: State of New Hampshire
Date: 9/14/2004
Response: In its 2004 Board Meeting on State Most Wanted issues, the Safety Board considered State actions taken on Most Wanted recommendations and made changes accordingly based on the following information: As noted in MC 2040464, New Hampshire has not changed its child passenger safety law, which requires children under age 6 and less than 55 inches to use child restraints.

From: State of New Hampshire
To: NTSB
Date: 7/26/2004
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/27/2004 10:29:43 AM MC# 2040464: New Hampshire requires children up to age 6 and less than 55 inches to use a child restraint.

From: NTSB
To: State of New Hampshire
Date: 5/26/2004
Response: (nmc 102485) Enclosed is a table that lists the State safety recommendations still open, including a summary of the progress made on each recommendation, if any. Because we intend to highlight the States' progress on these safety recommendations at our September Board meeting, I ask that you respond to this letter as quickly as possible-but not later than June 30, 2004. Please make sure your response includes any additional relevant information and/or corrects the information we have provided.

From: NTSB
To: State of New Hampshire
Date: 10/6/2003
Response: I understand that on May 20, 2003, you signed legislation that requires use of child restraint systems for children who are under age 6 and less than 55 inches in height, effectively protecting children in motor vehicle crashes by requiring them to transition from car seats to booster seats. This is an excellent first step towards the goal of reducing child injuries and fatalities. Research from The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia shows that, for 4-to-8-year-old children, using a belt-positioning booster seat with a seat belt instead of a seat belt alone reduces a child's risk of injury by 59 percent. The Board encourages the State of New Hampshire to extend the law to apply through age 7 for children who also need this additional protection. Pending adoption of such legislation, Safety Recommendation H-96-14 is classified "Open--Acceptable Response."

From: NTSB
To: State of New Hampshire
Date:
Response: At the 1996 Board meeting addressing the NTSB’s Most Wanted List of Transportation Safety Improvements (MWL), the Board voted to place Safety Recommendations H-95-13, H-95-17, H-95-19, H-95-20, H-96-13, H-96-14, H-96-19, H-96-20, H-96-22, H-96-23, and H-96-31 through H-96-33 on the state MWL under the issue category “Highway Vehicle Occupant Safety.” On May 14, 2002 at the MWL Board meeting, the Board voted to change the name of this category to “Primary Seat Belt Enforcement Laws.” Safety Recommendation H-97-02 was added to this MWL category at a later date.

From: NTSB
To: Territory of Guam
Date: 11/8/2010
Response: On November 8, 2010, the Board reviewed and made appropriate changes to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5300M) based on the following information: On June 16, 2009, Guam's Governor signed Bill 97,which requires children under age 4 to use a child restraint system and children less than 4 feet 9 inches tall and between ages 4 and 11 to use a booster seat or child restraint system.

From: NTSB
To: Territory of Guam
Date: 7/6/2010
Response:

From: Territory of Guam
To: NTSB
Date: 6/19/2009
Response:

From: NTSB
To: Territory of Guam
Date: 11/20/2008
Response: The Board reviewed and made appropriate changes to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5300G) based on the following information: Guam requires children age 1 and younger to use child restraints. In 2004, Guam's Department of Public Works recommended amending legislation to improve the existing child passenger safety law. The Department reiterated this recommendation in a 2006 memorandum to Guam's Governor. Guam did not consider applicable legislation in 2007 or 2008.

From: NTSB
To: Territory of Guam
Date: 9/18/2007
Response: The Board queried the State on 5/17/07 (nmc 103049), then reviewed--and made changes, if appropriate--to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5299Y) based on the following information: Guam requires children age 1 and younger to use child restraints. In 2004, Guam's Department of Public Works recommended amending legislation to improve the existing child passenger safety law. The Department reiterated this recommendation in a 2006 memorandum to Guam's Governor. Staff has sent a letter to the Governor and a letter and fax to the Governor's representative requesting information regarding action taken to implement this recommendation and has received no response.

From: NTSB
To: Territory of Guam
Date: 9/16/2006
Response: The Board reviewed and made appropriate changes to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5299U) based on the State’s response (MC2060313) to our 6/2/2006 request for an update, which indicated that: Guam requires children age 1 and younger to use child restraints. According to MC 2060313, in 2004, Guam's Department of Public Works recommended amending legislation to improve the existing child passenger safety law and add a requirement that children use child restraints and booster seats until they are 12 years old or big enough to use only a seat belt. The Department of Public Works reiterated this recommendation in a 2006 memorandum to Guam's Governor.

From: Territory of Guam
To: NTSB
Date: 6/26/2006
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/5/2006 1:30:07 PM MC# 2060313: Enclosed you will find pertinent documents relating to your recommendations: -Guam’s Safety Belt Law (Title 16, Guam Code hnotated, Chapter 26) -Letter from the former Director of Public Works. Mr. Joseph W. Duenas to Senator F. Randall Cunliffe dated Maxh 24, 2004, who, is the Chairperson for the Committee on Judiciary & Transportation. This letter provided comments and recommendations on the proposed legislation to amend Guam’s Seat Belt Law. -A memorandum from me to the Governor of Guam dated February 6, 2006 on Proposed Legislation on Guam’s Minimum Age for Consumption and Purchase of Alcoholic Beverages as well as amending Guam’s Seat Belt Law. -Guam’s Underage Drinking Prevention Initiative Draft as of February 22, 2006. All three documents may answer all your recommendations in regards to occupant protection, for the exception of H-97-001, which recommends that children age 12 years and yeunger be in a rear seat of a passenger vehicle if a rear seating position is available. We will consider your recommendation and amend our proposed legislation to include this.

From: NTSB
To: Territory of Guam
Date: 9/20/2005
Response: In its 2005 Board Meeting on State Most Wanted issues, the Safety Board considered State actions taken on Most Wanted recommendations and made changes accordingly based on the following information: Guam requires children age 1 and younger to use child restraints. Guam considered applicable legislation in the 2004 session.

From: NTSB
To: Territory of Guam
Date: 6/1/2005
Response: The Safety Board requested an update on this recommendation based on the following information: According to Guam's previous correspondence (05/21/2004), recommendations were submitted to the Guam legislature to include the usage of child restraint systems for children up to age 8, or until they are big enough to use seat belts. Please provide any new information.

From: NTSB
To: Territory of Guam
Date: 9/14/2004
Response: In its 2004 Board Meeting on State Most Wanted issues, the Safety Board considered State actions taken on Most Wanted recommendations and made changes accordingly based on the following information: According to MC 2040275, recommendations were submitted to the Guam legislature to include the usage of child restraint systems for children up to age 8, or until they are big enough to use seat belts.

From: NTSB
To: Territory of Guam
Date: 5/26/2004
Response: (nmc 102485) Enclosed is a table that lists the State safety recommendations still open, including a summary of the progress made on each recommendation, if any. Because we intend to highlight the States' progress on these safety recommendations at our September Board meeting, I ask that you respond to this letter as quickly as possible-but not later than June 30, 2004. Please make sure your response includes any additional relevant information and/or corrects the information we have provided.

From: Territory of Guam
To: NTSB
Date: 5/21/2004
Response: [MC # 2040275] Again, recommendations were submitted to the Guam Legislature to include the usage of child restraint systems for children 0 to 8 years of age until they are big enough to use the seat belt device in the vehicle.

From: NTSB
To: Territory of Guam
Date: 2/25/2003
Response: Over the past 10 years, the Safety Board has issued to your territory a series of recommendations to address graduated driver licensing, impaired driving, child passenger safety, and seat belt use in an effort to help reduce the number of unnecessary deaths and injuries on our highways. Enclosed are summaries of our recommendations and how implementing the recommendations can improve highway safety in your territory. You can find the complete text of our recommendation letters on our Web site at http://www.ntsb.gov/Recs/letters/letters.htm. The Safety Board is interested in knowing whether and how its recommendations are implemented, both to ensure that the traveling public is provided the highest level of safety, and to identify creative solutions that might be shared with others. That is why we monitor its implementation of all our recommendations. The Board would like to know of your progress in implementing the legislation called for in our highway safety recommendations. Questions about these recommendations can be addressed to Mr. Kevin Quinlan, Safety Advocacy Division Chief, at (202) 314-6175 or Quinlak@NTSB.GOV.

From: NTSB
To: Territory of Guam
Date:
Response: At the 1996 Board meeting addressing the NTSB’s Most Wanted List of Transportation Safety Improvements (MWL), the Board voted to place Safety Recommendations H-95-13, H-95-17, H-95-19, H-95-20, H-96-13, H-96-14, H-96-19, H-96-20, H-96-22, H-96-23, and H-96-31 through H-96-33 on the state MWL under the issue category “Highway Vehicle Occupant Safety.” On May 14, 2002 at the MWL Board meeting, the Board voted to change the name of this category to “Primary Seat Belt Enforcement Laws.” Safety Recommendation H-97-02 was added to this MWL category at a later date.

From: NTSB
To: State of Colorado
Date: 11/8/2010
Response: On November 8, 2010, the Board reviewed and made appropriate changes to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5300M) based on the following information: On May 26, 2010, Colorado's Governor signed SB 110, which requires children under age 8 to use a child restraint system.

From: State of Colorado
To: NTSB
Date: 6/18/2009
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 6/23/2009 3:00:01 PM MC# 2090391

From: NTSB
To: State of Colorado
Date: 11/20/2008
Response: The Board reviewed and made appropriate changes to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5300G) based on the following information: Colorado requires children age 5 and younger (or less than 55 inches) to use child restraints, with secondary enforcement for booster seat-age children. Colorado considered applicable legislation in 2007. Colorado did not consider applicable legislation in 2008.

From: NTSB
To: State of Colorado
Date: 9/18/2007
Response: The Board queried the State on 5/17/07 (nmc 103049), then reviewed--and made changes, if appropriate--to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5299Y) based on the following information: Colorado requires children age 5 and younger (or less than 55 inches) to use child restraints, with secondary enforcement for booster seat-age children. Colorado considered applicable legislation in 2007.

From: State of Colorado
To: NTSB
Date: 6/15/2007
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/3/2007 9:41:53 AM MC# 2070313: See letter for Colorado's response--changes are highlighted in color.

From: NTSB
To: State of Colorado
Date: 9/16/2006
Response: The Board reviewed and made appropriate changes to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5299U) based on the State‘s response (MC2060338) to our 6/2/2006 request for an update, which indicated that: Colorado requires children age 5 and younger (or less than 55 inches) to use child restraints, with secondary enforcement for booster seat-age children. Colorado considered applicable legislation in 2005.

From: State of Colorado
To: NTSB
Date: 7/14/2006
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/17/2006 2:33:55 PM MC# 2060338: Colorado requires children age 5 and younger (or less than 55 inches) to use child restraints, with secondary enforcement for booster seat-age children. In 2005, Colorado considered legislation to authorize primary enforcement of the booster seat provisions. Colorado did not consider applicable legislation in 2006.

From: NTSB
To: State of Colorado
Date: 9/20/2005
Response: In its 2005 Board Meeting on State Most Wanted issues, the Safety Board considered State actions taken on Most Wanted recommendations and made changes accordingly based on the following information: As confirmed by MC 2050291, Colorado requires children age 5 and younger (or less than 55 inches) to use child restraints, with secondary enforcement for booster seat-age children. Colorado unsuccessfully considered this session (2005) legislation to authorize primary enforcement of the booster seat provisions.

From: State of Colorado
To: NTSB
Date: 7/1/2005
Response: Colorado has not changed its child passenger safety law, which requires children under age 6 and less than 55 inches to be in child restraints (child safety seats and booster seats), with secondary enforcement for ages 4 and 5. Legislation for 2005 session provided for primary enforcement of booster seats, however legislation did not pass.

From: NTSB
To: State of Colorado
Date: 6/1/2005
Response: The Safety Board requested an update on this recommendation based on the following information: According to Colorado's most recent correspondence (07/14/2004), Colorado has not changed its child passenger safety law, which requires children under age 6 and less than 55 inches to be in child restraints (child safety seats and booster seats), with secondary enforcement for ages 4 and 5. Please confirm and provide any new information.

From: NTSB
To: State of Colorado
Date: 9/14/2004
Response: In its 2004 Board Meeting on State Most Wanted issues, the Safety Board considered State actions taken on Most Wanted recommendations and made changes accordingly based on the following information: According to MC 2040412, Colorado has not changed its child passenger safety law, which requires children under age 6 and less than 55 inches to be in child restraints (child safety seats and booster seats), with secondary enforcement for ages 4 and 5.

From: State of Colorado
To: NTSB
Date: 7/14/2004
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/15/2004 10:18:44 AM MC# 2040412: No change - The booster seat law is secondary enforcement for 4 and 5 year olds and that are less than 55 inches tall.

From: NTSB
To: State of Colorado
Date: 5/26/2004
Response: (nmc 102485) Enclosed is a table that lists the State safety recommendations still open, including a summary of the progress made on each recommendation, if any. Because we intend to highlight the States' progress on these safety recommendations at our September Board meeting, I ask that you respond to this letter as quickly as possible-but not later than June 30, 2004. Please make sure your response includes any additional relevant information and/or corrects the information we have provided.

From: NTSB
To: State of Colorado
Date: 2/25/2003
Response: The Safety Board is interested in knowing whether and how its recommendations are implemented, both to ensure that the traveling public is provided the highest level of safety, and to identify creative solutions that might be shared with others. That is why we monitor the implementation of all our recommendations. The Board would also like to know about your progress in implementing legislation called for in our highway safety recommendations. I understand that on June 4, 2002, you signed legislation that increases Colorado's child restraint use age requirement to 6 years, effectively protecting children in motor vehicle accidents by requiring them to transition from car seats to booster seats. This is an excellent first step towards the goal of reducing child injuries and fatalities. Therefore, Safety Recommendations H-96-14 and -15 are classified "Open-Acceptable Response." The Board encourages the State of Colorado to extend the law to apply through age 7 for children who also need this additional protection. I also encourage you to seek legislation that would allow primary enforcement of Colorado's child restraint law.

From: NTSB
To: State of Colorado
Date: 5/24/2002
Response: I am sorry that we were unable to coordinate our schedules so that I might speak with you about House Bill 1070, which would require children through age 5 and up to 55 inches to be restrained in a child safety seat or booster seat. This issue is very important to the Safety Board, which has continuously placed child occupant protection on our list of most wanted safety improvements. The Safety Board urges you to sign this measure to improve the safety of Colorado’s children." "Thus far, a total of 12 states have enacted booster seat legislation. Most, like Colorado, have adopted a conservative approach. Others have acted more aggressively by enacting laws covering children up to or through age 7." "Signing House Bill 1070 will save lives and reduce injuries. The children of Colorado should be provided the highest level of safety when riding in a motor vehicle. To that end, I strongly urge you to act promptly upon House Bill 1070."

From: NTSB
To: State of Colorado
Date:
Response: At the 1996 Board meeting addressing the NTSB’s Most Wanted List of Transportation Safety Improvements (MWL), the Board voted to place Safety Recommendations H-95-13, H-95-17, H-95-19, H-95-20, H-96-13, H-96-14, H-96-19, H-96-20, H-96-22, H-96-23, and H-96-31 through H-96-33 on the state MWL under the issue category “Highway Vehicle Occupant Safety.” On May 14, 2002 at the MWL Board meeting, the Board voted to change the name of this category to “Primary Seat Belt Enforcement Laws.” Safety Recommendation H-97-02 was added to this MWL category at a later date.

From: NTSB
To: Territory of American Samoa
Date: 7/29/2013
Response: On July 29, 2013, the Board approved appropriate changes to the status of this recommendation (Notation 8506) based on the following information: On May 9, 2011, Georgia’s Governor signed legislation that requires children under age 8 to use a child restraint system. On May 9, 2012, Arizona’s Governor signed legislation that requires children under age 8 to use a child restraint system. Safety Recommendation H 96 14 is classified CLOSED—ACCEPTABLE ACTION for Arizona and Georgia. There is no indication that American Samoa has considered applicable legislation since 1999. Accordingly, Safety Recommendation H 96 14 is classified CLOSED—UNACCEPTABLE ACTION for American Samoa.

From: NTSB
To: Territory of American Samoa
Date: 11/8/2010
Response: On November 8, 2010, the Board reviewed and made appropriate changes to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5300M) based on the following information: American Samoa requires children age 4 and under to use a child restraint system. American Samoa has not considered applicable legislation since 1989.

From: NTSB
To: Territory of American Samoa
Date: 11/20/2008
Response: The Board reviewed and made appropriate changes to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5300G) based on the following information: American Samoa requires children age 4 and under to use a child restraint system. American Samoa has not considered applicable legislation since 1989.

From: NTSB
To: Territory of American Samoa
Date: 9/18/2007
Response: The Board queried the State on 5/17/07 (nmc 103049), then reviewed--and made changes, if appropriate--to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5299Y) based on the following information: Per staff's August 8, 2007, telephone conversation with Mr. Letuli, Chief, Highway Safety Program, since 1989 American Samoa has required children age 4 and under to use a child restraint system. American Samoa has not considered applicable legislation since 1989.

From: NTSB
To: Territory of American Samoa
Date: 9/16/2006
Response: The Board reviewed and made appropriate changes to the status of this recommendation (Notation 5299U) based on the following information: American Samoa requires children age 2 and younger to use child restraints. The Board has no information on whether American Samoa considered applicable legislation in 2005 or 2006.

From: NTSB
To: Territory of American Samoa
Date: 9/20/2005
Response: In its 2005 Board Meeting on State Most Wanted issues, the Safety Board considered State actions taken on Most Wanted recommendations and made changes accordingly based on the following information: American Samoa requires children age 2 and younger to use child restraints.

From: NTSB
To: Territory of American Samoa
Date: 6/1/2004
Response: The Safety Board requested an update on this recommendation based on the following information: American Samoa has not provided information on this issue. Safety Board information is that children under age 3 must use child safety seats, and children age 4 to age 8 can use seat belts. Please confirm and provide any new information.

From: NTSB
To: Territory of American Samoa
Date: 5/26/2004
Response: (nmc 102485) Enclosed is a table that lists the State safety recommendations still open, including a summary of the progress made on each recommendation, if any. Because we intend to highlight the States' progress on these safety recommendations at our September Board meeting, I ask that you respond to this letter as quickly as possible-but not later than June 30, 2004. Please make sure your response includes any additional relevant information and/or corrects the information we have provided.

From: NTSB
To: Territory of American Samoa
Date: 2/25/2003
Response: Over the past 10 years, the Safety Board has issued to your territory a series of recommendations to address graduated driver licensing, impaired driving, child passenger safety, and seat belt use in an effort to help reduce the number of unnecessary deaths and injuries on our highways. Enclosed are summaries of our recommendations and how implementing the recommendations can improve highway safety in your territory. You can find the complete text of our recommendation letters on our Web site at http://www.ntsb.gov/Recs/letters/letters.htm. The Safety Board is interested in knowing whether and how its recommendations are implemented, both to ensure that the traveling public is provided the highest level of safety, and to identify creative solutions that might be shared with others. That is why we monitor its implementation of all our recommendations. The Board would like to know of your progress in implementing the legislation called for in our highway safety recommendations. Questions about these recommendations can be addressed to Mr. Kevin Quinlan, Safety Advocacy Division Chief, at (202) 314-6175 or Quinlak@NTSB.GOV.

From: NTSB
To: Territory of American Samoa
Date:
Response: At the 1996 Board meeting addressing the NTSB’s Most Wanted List of Transportation Safety Improvements (MWL), the Board voted to place Safety Recommendations H-95-13, H-95-17, H-95-19, H-95-20, H-96-13, H-96-14, H-96-19, H-96-20, H-96-22, H-96-23, and H-96-31 through H-96-33 on the state MWL under the issue category “Highway Vehicle Occupant Safety.” On May 14, 2002 at the MWL Board meeting, the Board voted to change the name of this category to “Primary Seat Belt Enforcement Laws.” Safety Recommendation H-97-02 was added to this MWL category at a later date.

From: NTSB
To: State of Illinois
Date: 9/14/2004
Response: In its 2004 Board Meeting on State Most Wanted issues, the Safety Board considered State actions taken on Most Wanted recommendations and made changes accordingly based on the following information: As noted in MC 2040364, on July 3, 2003, the Governor signed SB 52, which increases to age 8 the point at which children move from child restraints (child safety seats and booster seats) to seat belts. However, the law does not apply to individuals who are not the parent or guardian unless the parent or guardian provides a child restraint.

From: State of Illinois
To: NTSB
Date: 6/18/2004
Response: Letter Mail Controlled 7/1/2004 3:16:57 PM MC# 2040364: On July 3, 2003, the Governor signed iegislation, which requires drivers of non-commercial motor vehicles of the first division and drivers of second division vehicles with a GVWR of 9,000 pounds or less to transport children under age eight in an appropriate child restraint system.

From: NTSB
To: State of Illinois
Date: 5/26/2004
Response: