Hearing on Air Race and Air Show Safety

Agenda & Presentations

Opening Statement: Chairman Hersman

Panel 1: Regulatory and Oversight

  • John McGraw, AFS -2, FAA
  • Mike Umstead, National Aviation Event Coordinator, Office of Flight Standards, FAA
  • John Cudahy, President, International Council of Air Shows (ICAS)
  • Wayne Boggs, ICAS Safety Committee
  • Judy Willey, Chairman, ICAS Board of Directors

Panel 2: Aviation Event Organization

  • Mike Houghton, President/CEO, Reno Air Race Association (RARA)
  • Michael Major, RARA Board Member, Pilot and Aircraft Registration
  • Rod Hightower, President/CEO, Experimental Aircraft Association (EAA)
  • Sean Elliott, VP for Government Affairs, EAA
  • George Cline, President, Air Boss Inc.

Panel 3: Aviation Event Operations

  • Frank Sebastian, Airshow Coordinator and Chair, Seafair Air show Committee, Seattle, WA
  • Edwin Downum, USMC Air Show Director, MCAS Miramar
  • Robert Stenevik, Vice President of Safety, Operations, and Maintenance, Commemorative Air Force, Dallas, TX
  • Jim DiMatteo, Red Bull Air Racing - Former Race Director for San Diego and New York Events
  • Sean Tucker, Performer, Team Oracle

Closing Statement: Chairman Hersman