NTSB Press Release

National Transportation Safety Board
Office of Public Affairs

Christopher Hart sworn in for second term as NTSB Vice Chairman

August 25, 2011

Christopher Hart was sworn in today for his second two-year term as NTSB vice chairman. He became a board member for the second time on August 12, 2009, and six days later was designated as vice chairman by President Obama. Vice Chairman Hart had previously served as an NTSB board member from 1990 to 1993.

"I have been deeply involved in transportation safety for more than 30 years, at the NTSB, the FAA, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, and more personally, as a long-time pilot," said Hart. "I am so grateful for the opportunity to be able to continue to work in this area in an agency made up of people who are so dedicated to improving transportation safety."

Mr. Hart's term as vice chairman ends on August 24, 2013. He is concurrently serving a five-year term as board member, which runs through December 31, 2012.

NTSB Media Contact: Peter Knudson
(202) 314-6100



The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) is an independent federal agency charged with determining the probable cause
of transportation accidents, promoting transportation safety, and assisting victims of transportation accidents and their families.