NTSB Press Release

National Transportation Safety Board
Office of Public Affairs

Deborah A.P. Hersman sworn in for second term as NTSB Chairman

August 4, 2011

WASHINGTON Deborah Hersman was officially sworn in today for a second two-year term as NTSB chairman. She became chairman on July 28, 2009. She was nominated for the second term by President Barack Obama on June 28, 2011, and confirmed by the U.S. Senate on August 2nd. "I am deeply honored to continue serving as chairman of the NTSB," Hersman said. "It has been a privilege to lead this remarkable organization with its dedicated and professional employees. I look forward to continuing to work with my fellow board members and the staff to make transportation safer for our citizens."

Her term as chairman ends on August 3, 2013. She is concurrently serving a second five-year term as board member, which runs through December 31, 2013.

Contact: NTSB Public Affairs
Kelly Nantel
(202) 314-6100



The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) is an independent federal agency charged with determining the probable cause
of transportation accidents, promoting transportation safety, and assisting victims of transportation accidents and their families.