NTSB Press Release

National Transportation Safety Board
Office of Public Affairs


September 13 , 2007

Washington, D.C. -- National Transportation Safety Board Chairman Mark V. Rosenker received the NASBLA Award from the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators at the association's 48th annual meeting in Burlington, Vermont, on Friday, September 7, 2007. 

"Boating safety has been an issue to which I have been committed for many years, and the Board has given me a vantage point from which to spread this important message with political leaders. It is an honor to be recognized by the distinguished members of NASBLA with this award and to join them in supporting safe recreational boating practices in every state of the union," Rosenker said.

The NASBLA Award is one of the organization's oldest and most distinguished awards and is given to a person or persons who have contributed to the mission of the organization and to the promotion of boating safety. Jeff Johnson, NASBLA's president and the Boating Law Administrator of Alaska, presented the award to the Chairman.

Chairman Rosenker has been a strong and staunch advocate of NASBLA's boating safety programs. Upon his appointment to the Board, Rosenker became the senior Board Member advocating for national recreational boating safety improvements, including the mandatory usage of personal flotation devices (PFDs) by children, mandatory recreational boating safety education for all recreational boaters, mandatory licensing for all boat operators, and safety instruction training for operators of rented personal watercraft.

Chairman Rosenker has promoted the recreational boating safety agenda through the Board's highly visible Most Wanted transportation safety improvements list, calling upon all states to adopt legislation and regulations governing boating safety. During his tenure on the Board, approximately half of the states has taken action.

The NASBLA Award is a ship's wheel clock with an engraved plate.

NASBLA honored the NTSB with a second award at its 2007 annual meeting by bestowing the Bonner Award upon Bill Gossard of the NTSB's Safety Advocacy Division. The Bonner Award is named for Representative Herbert C. Bonner (NC), author of the 1958 Boating Safety Act. The award is presented to an individual who has who has successfully advocated life-saving boating safety initiatives.

Gossard has been a strong and relentless advocate for recreational boating safety improvements and a recognized leader in boating safety initiatives. He has assisted numerous Board Chairmen and Members in addressing, testifying and reporting on advances in recreational boating safety.

The Bonner Award is a clock and a barometer with an engraved plate.

NTSB Media Contact:
Bridget Serchak



The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) is an independent federal agency charged with determining the probable cause
of transportation accidents, promoting transportation safety, and assisting victims of transportation accidents and their families.