NTSB Press Release

National Transportation Safety Board
Office of Public Affairs


June 28, 2004

National Transportation Safety Board Chairman Ellen Engleman Conners will present safety awards to Virginia state lawmakers at tomorrow's kickoff of Checkpoint Strikeforce - the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's (NHTSA) Mid-Atlantic campaign to reduce drinking and driving. Joining Chairman Engleman Conners will be the NTSB's new Board Member, Debbie Hersman.

At the kick-off event the Chairman will present State Safety Leadership awards to Virginia state legislators responsible for getting 25 new drunk driving bills passed in May. Chairman Engleman Conners applauded the new legislation saying, "Every person who gets behind the wheel needs to be 100% committed to safety. These new laws and Checkpoint Strikeforce send a very clear message to Virginia drivers. 'Don't drink and drive. We won't tolerate it.'" The awards will be presented to Senator Thomas Norment, Senator William Roscoe Reynolds, Senator Kenneth Stolle, Delegate David Albo, Delegate Robert Bell, and Delegate Robert McDonnell in honor of outstanding leadership in promoting and adopting laws to reduce alcohol related fatalities in Virginia, especially those involving hard core drinking drivers.

Chairman Engleman Conners will also present a State Safety Leadership award to Virginia Assistant Motor Vehicle Commissioner Vincent M. Burgess in recognition of his counsel and assistance in getting Virginia's drinking and driving legislation passed.

Tuesday's event will take place at 11 am the Chesterfield General District Court, 9500 Courthouse Road, Chesterfield, Virginia.

NTSB Office of Public Affairs: (202) 314-6100



The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) is an independent federal agency charged with determining the probable cause
of transportation accidents, promoting transportation safety, and assisting victims of transportation accidents and their families.