NTSB Identification: DCA09WA072
Accident occurred Monday, August 10, 2009 in Tokyo, Japan
Aircraft: BOEING 737, registration:
Injuries: 153 Uninjured.

This is preliminary information, subject to change, and may contain errors. The foreign authority was the source of this information.

On August 10, 2009, a Boeing 737-800, registered JA56AN, operated by Air Nippon Co., Ltd. as flight ANA298, took off from Tottori Airport at 19:12 Japan standard time (10:12 UTC) and landed at runway B of Tokyo International Airport at 20:23 Japan standard time (11:23 UTC). Post flight check showed that lower tailpiece of the fuselage of the aircraft was damaged about five meters long and one meter wide. Two scratch marks (about 25 meters long and 7.5 meters long) were made on runway B of the Tokyo International Airport. No injuries were reported.

The investigation is being conducted by the Japan Transport Safety Board. All inquiries should be directed to:

Japan Transport Safety Board Secretariat
2-1-2 Kasumigaseki, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo (100-8918)
Phone: +81-3-5253-8486

Website: http://www.mlit.go.jp/jtsb/links.html

Index for Aug2009 | Index of months